## Hoosiers win the RYA National Team Racing Championship



The Royal Forth Hoosiers (Tim Saxton, Rob Friend, Mark Powell, Isobel Walker, George Clark, Holly Scott) were worthy winners of the RYA National Team Racing Championship hosted by the UK Team Racing Association and Rutland SC on 21/22 March.

24 of the best team racing teams from across the country were competing at the event, including the recently selected GBR squad for the forthcoming ISAF Team Racing World Championship, which is also being hosted by Rutland SC in July. Two local teams were entered, the Rutland Raiders and Rascals, crewed by the three 3 of the youngest competitors: Ben Tylecote (11), Charlie Turnbull (13) and Oscar Morley (13).



The competition started in a fresh, force 4/5 breeze on Saturday, necessitating the use of cut down mainsails on the fleets of 12 foot Firefly dinghies. These were generously loaned for the event by Uppingham, Oundle and Oakham Schools and Rutland SC. All the boats remained in service throughout the weekend due to the skill and dedicated effort of the boatswain team, headed by Tim Litt. The wind eased a little in the afternoon allowing the use of the standard sail plan.



The first stage of the Championship consisted of four, seeded leagues, each comprising six teams. After 60 races, the fleet was reclassified for the second stage into Gold, Silver and Bronze leagues of eight teams. The winners of the first round leagues were the West Kirby Hawks (GBR 1); Royal Forth Hoosiers (GBR 2); Itchenor and Cambridge Blue. 92 races were completed on the first day, with the Hoosiers showing impressive form and not dropping a race.



On Sunday morning, the conditions had changed completely providing a light force 2 breeze to the relief of many crews. Unfortunately, the breeze died during the day, as forecast, and, despite the best efforts of the PRO Chris Riley, only a further 23 races were able to be sailed. This did not permit completion of the full second stage series or the final knockout heats.

The Championship was decided on the results of the second stage races that had been sailed. The Hoosiers were convincing winners, having not lost a race throughout the competition, and were presented the Prince Philip Trophy.



**Royal Forth Hoosiers** 

Itchenor

Runners up in the Gold league were Itchenor SC (George Yeoman, Sophie Ormsby, Andy Shaw, Pippa Horne, Rob Struckett & Rosie Sibthorp) and third equal were the West Kirby Hawks and Cambridge Blue.

Winners of the Silver league were Bristol Alumni with Manchester Purple heading up the Bronze League.

Team	Races Sailed	Wins	% Wins	Average Points
Dx & Cam SS (Pink EST)	5	1	20	
Royal Forth (Blue KOR)	5	5	100	
tchenor (Blue BEL)	6	5	83.33333333	
SMVC (Yellow BRA)	6	3	50	
MK Hawks (Blue THA)	5	3	60	
Oxford Blue (Blue GRE)	4	0	0	
RTYC Red (Pink TUR)	8	1	16.66666667	
Cam Blue (Blue BUL)	5	3	60	
Sheet1				
	📑 Open S	itg 2 Results Sum	Gald	
Stg 2 Results Sum Slvr	: Sheet1			
Team	Races Sailed	Wins	% Wins	Average Points
Rutland Raiders (Blue USA)	5	4	80	
Sevenoaks (Yellow THA)	5	0	0	
Wessex Exempt (Yellow KO	5	3	60	
Solent 14 (Yellow BEL)	5	1	20	
Bristol Alumni (Blue BRA)	4	4	100	
Cam Yellow (Yellow BUL)	6	2	33.33333333	
SSCM (Yellow EST)	4	2	50	
RTYC Blue (Blue TUR)	4	3	75	
3heeti		Sta 2 Results Sum	Obe	
		ag z rresuns sum	<u>2w</u>	
Stg 2 Results Sum Brn: Team	Races Sailed	Wins	% Wins	Average Points
Manc Purple (Blue FRA)	nucco ouncu	171113	3 10	
Sheffield Steel (Pink FIN)	4		1 2	
Cam Pink (Pink BUL)	4		3 7	
Tonbridge Black (Blue UKR)	3		27 July 10 Jul	0
MCS (Blue CHN)	4		1 2	
Rutland Rascals (Pink USA)	2		2 10	
Dakham (Yellow CHN)	4		3 7	2
Manc Yellow (Yellow FRA)	2		200	0

Further results and details of the event can be found at: <u>https://sites.google.com/site/uktra2015</u>

The next major team racing competition will be the Wilson Trophy (the unofficial British Open Team Racing Championship), which is being hosted by the West Kirby SC on the Wirral, near Liverpool, on the 8-10 May 2015.

Information on the ISAF Team Racing World Championship, 19-24 July, is available at: <u>www.rutlandteamracing.org.uk</u>