
TR RAPID RESPONSE CALL  

Getting Well Clear before Taking a Penalty 

 
Rule 21.2  Taking Penalties 
Rule 44.2  One-Turn and Two-Turn Penalties 

Question 1 

When is a boat, intending to take a penalty under rule 44.2, ‘well clear of other boats’? 

Answer 1 

A boat intending to take a penalty under rule 44.2 meets the requirement to get ‘well 
clear of other boats’ when she reaches a position where she 

a) has the space she needs to start taking the penalty, and 
b) is not preventing a boat on another team from: 

i. continuing to sail her current course; 
ii. changing course onto a proper course; or 
iii. approaching the line to start. 

Rule 44.2 requires the boat to meet this requirement as soon as possible. 

Once a boat has met this requirement, rule 44.2 then requires her to take the penalty 
promptly, and rule 21.2 requires her to keep clear of other boats while doing so. 

Question 2 

B and Y are two-person dinghies on a beat to 
windward in moderate wind. Rule 17 does not apply 
to Y and no other boats are nearby. 

After Position 1 Y luffs slowly and B does not 
respond. At Position 3 B is not keeping clear. Y bears 
away and protests. B luffs, then tacks and gybes. 

Has B taken a One-Turn Penalty that complies with 
rule 44.2? 

Answer 2 

Yes. At position 4 after Y bears away and B luffs, B has the space she needs to start 
taking the penalty and is not preventing Y from continuing to sail her current course. 
So at Position 4 B meets the requirement to get well clear of other boats.  B then 
promptly makes a turn including one tack and one gybe as required by rule 44.2. 



However, if a boat passes head to wind or gybes before she is well clear, that tack or 
gybe is not part of her penalty turn. 
 
Question 3 

Shortly after the starting signal, a keelboat B touches a starting mark that Y is 
approaching on a close-hauled course, but not fetching. All other boats have started 
between B and the committee vessel. 

As soon as B is clear of the mark, she bears away. After position 3, Y tacks and starts. 
B promptly gybes, passes astern of Y, and then tacks.  

Has B taken a One-Turn Penalty that complies with rule 44.2?  

 

Answer 3 

Yes. At Position 3 B is sailing in a direction to give herself the space to take the penalty 
to leeward of Y as soon as possible.  When Y luffs to tack, B has the space she needs to 
start taking the penalty and is not preventing Y from either continuing to sail her course 
or approaching the line to start.  B therefore has met the requirement to get well clear 
of other boats. 

B then promptly makes a turn including one gybe and one tack as required by rule 44.2. 


