

Ceilidh Cup/Scottish Student Sailing Match Racing at the Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club



The Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club (RNCYC) and Scottish Student Sailing (SSS) again join forces for their annual match racing competition, held in RNCYC's Sonar at Rhu on 4th & 5th October. This event combines a match racing event for Scottish universities with additional non-qualifying entrants, with the Ceilidh Cup being awarded to the best overall team, as well as a separate prize for the best University team.

With the full nine teams, many helms at the event are returning to the Sonars, including top seed Theo Hoole (Strathclyde University) will be looking to build upon his foreign match racing trips to The Netherlands this year. RNCYC member Nicole McPherson should also be familiar in her home waters, having participated in recent events including team racing versus the Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club in the Sonars. Meanwhile while unranked RNCYC member Calum Underwood who is also helming for Strathclyde University will be hoping that his summer Sonar campaign will pay off among those helms & crews less familiar with the Sonars. Finally, with the revival of the Scottish Hunter 707 fleet at Port Edgar, its not surprising that many helms have experience from the 707s, such as Emily Robertson (Glasgow University), and ringer Craig Paul (sailing for Edinburgh University).

With more than 36 races scheduled over the 2 days, adjudicated by a team of 7 umpires, and with a strengthening forecast, racing should be tight and interesting. The winner of the Ceilidh Cup will be invited to the RYA's National Match Racing Championship Grand Finals on 14-16th November.

Skippers & Clubs:

Theo Hoole, University of Strathclyde Sailing Club Connor Simms, Dundee University Sailing Club Nicole McPherson*, Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club Alison Morrish*, University of Strathclyde Sailing Club Craig Paul*, Edinburgh University Sailing Club Josh Bather, University of St Andrews Sailing Club Scott McWhirter, Glasgow University Sailing Club Emily Robertson, Glasgow University Sailing Club Calum Underwood, University of Strathclyde Sailing Club * denotes teams ineligible for the SSS prize.



Photo credit: Copyright Neil Ross

By Craig Macdonald