The first ever 4 Nations University Team Racing Championship was held on Wednesday 30th September at   The event, hosted by BUSA and , was a four way match up between the best university team of each nation, as decided by results from the 2009 BUSA team racing finals and the IUSA varsity.

The four teams, Limerick for , for , for and for sailed three round robins which resulted in a ranking placing on top followed by , Limerick and . This was followed by a three race final between and .

won the first race with the wind dropping rapidly. The second race was won by but a start line incident resulted in it being awarded to , making the final race the decider. The race was closely fought with having the advantage for most of the race, however on the last beat Mark Powell managed to come through and take first place, winning the event for .  A new trophy was awarded to and SLAM were very generous in donating prizes.  The Edinburgh Team comprised Mark Powell, Katie McKenzie, Rob Friend, Lianne Hibbert, Libby Manser and George Clark.

The event was a fantastic success and will be repeated in 2010 with a parallel ladies championship, organised by the next BUSA team captains. 

Photos are available on www.photoboxgallery.com/nvphoto

Upcoming Events
75th Anniversary Firefly National Championships

Organized by Other
7 to 13 August 2021

Sheffield Shuffle

Organized by Sheffield
29 to 31 October 2021

Leeds Howler

Organized by Leeds
5 to 7 November 2021

Twitter Feed

Join Our Facebook Group