BUSA Match Racing Finals 2009

After a tough qualifying series, nine teams earned their place in the BUCS/BUSA Match Racing Finals at Queen Mary Sailing Club on the weekend of 4-5 April.

The first day provided sunshine but very unsteady breeze, jumping between five and fifteen knots. Nevertheless, with little wind forecast for the next day, the race officer made sure he got racing underway on time and stormed through the whole round robin. Racing was very close with first and second tied on points and a three way tie between third and fifth places. With such tight racing the umpires were kept on their toes all day, even having to issue a controversial black flag at one point!

As forecast, there was even less wind for Sunday, but just enough to get going with the semi finals of Southampton 1 Vs Solent 2 and Bristol Vs Newcastle. Southampton 1 and Bristol convincingly won their places in the final, but unfortunately the wind couldn’t hold out long enough for it. Using results from the round robin the Southampton 1 team of Andrew Shaw, Ed Dyer, Phil Spicer and Chris Redburn were crowned BUCS/BUSA Match Racing Champions for 2009 and will be invited to attend the RYA National Match Racing Finals in October.

Overall results;


Southampton 1

Andy Shaw

Ed Dyer

Phil Spicer

Chris Redburn




Ed Green

James Wade

Chris Carden

Hattie Marsden

Pete Sands


Newcastle 1

George Yeoman

Ben Crompton

Emma Norris

Ian Martin

Ed Fitzgerald


Solent 2

Chris Witty

Tom O’Neil

James Moore

Nick Blevins.




Connor Myant

Ed Moore

Rolf Lechner

Robbie Claridge

Jo Li


Solent 1

Ben Pym

Chris Doe

Guy Jackson

Peter Cowell




Charlotte Lawrence

Olivia Manser

Kate MacKenzie

Lavina Paternoster

Steph Young


St Andrews

Alex Ekstrom

Ross Watson

Craig Paul

Carolyn Witkewicz

Ailie Knox


Glasgow 1

Tristan McMillan

Roger Carter

Dave Donaldson

Frederica Findlater

Ali Beaton

Upcoming Events
2020 Firefly Nationals

Organized by BUSA
1 to 2 August 2020

British Keelboat League

Organized by Royal Yachting Association
1 to 2 August 2020

British Keelboat League

Organized by Royal Yachting Association
5 to 6 September 2020

Twitter Feed

Join Our Facebook Group