Rob Gullan and his team from Southampton Solent University have won the BUSA Match Racing Qualifier 2 last weekend at Queen Mary Sailing Club.

Nine teams from across the country attended the event, which was the final opportunity to qualify for the BUCS/BUSA Championship Finals in April.  Competition was close, with currently FISU World University Champion Andy Shaw ranked number 1 for the event.  Shaw sailed a perfect round robin, winning all of his races, but was defeated by fellow FISU World GBR team member James Goss (Bristol) in the semi-finals (2-1).

The second semi-finals saw Tim Saxton (Exeter 1), second place from the round robin, sailed against Rob Gullan (Solent), third in the round robin.  Saxton should have had the upper hand in the racing after beating Gullan in the round robin and from winning the first of three semi final races, but was unable to hold off the Solent team who won 2-1.

The final saw Gullan and Goss both winning a race each, leading to the final ‘sudden death’ race.  Gullan was victorious and will lead the charge to win the Championship trophy and some vital BUCS Sport points.

Thanks go to Malcolm McKeag and Royal Thames Yacht Club for running the final BUSA qualifier for 2011.


Rob Gullan, Matt Reid, Theo Moussion, Joel Carey

James Goss, Olly Sloper, Elliott Parsons, Ian Robertson

Tim Saxton, Ben Muskett, Matt Rainback, AJ Dawson, Suzy Russel

Andy Shaw, Aaron Cooper, Steve Tiernan, Ed Dyer, Holly Scott

Jason Saints, Mike Wood, Ian Mayhew, Francois Fung, Emma Derby

Scott Terry, Chris Pope, Adam Parry, Matt Haslam

Emanuel Koechert, Roman Luyken, Joel Kemp, Tom Clapton

Alan Roberts, James Ellis, Chris O’Neil, Ed Fitzgerald, Lucas Brun

Jake Galea, Sophie Miles, Joanne Li, Harri Lawrance, Jenny Saunders



The top six teams from both qualifiers will now meet in the Championship Finals on the 16/17 April 2011 at Queen Mary SC.

The full line up for the Finals is:


James Goss

Durham Blue

Edward Harrison

Durham White

Simon Kitchen

Exeter 1

Tim Saxton

Exeter 2

Jason Saints

Glasgow B

Moray Clark


George Yeoman

Plymouth 1

Scott Terry

Solent 1 (Black)

Rob Gullan

Southampton 1

Andy Shaw

St Andrews

Ben Wilcox

Strathclyde A

Niall McLeod

Upcoming Events
BUCS/BUSA Team Racing Championships 2020

Organized by BUSA
13 to 15 April 2020

BUCS/BUSA Match Racing Championships

Organized by BUSA
17 to 19 April 2020

The Wilson Trophy

Organized by Other
1 to 3 May 2020

Twitter Feed

Join Our Facebook Group